Its own website (Written in JP/EN)

Taking full advantage of Okinawa’s characteristic of being the only prefecture in the country located in the subtropics, the Faculty of Agriculture aims to become a unique facility focusing on global food and environmental issues, as well as issues pertaining to the development of regional agriculture. The Faculty of Agriculture has four departments: Department of Subtropical Agro-Production Sciences, Department of Subtropical Agro-Environmental Sciences, Department of Regional Agricultural Engineering, and Department of Bioscience and Biotechnology. The Graduate School of Agriculture provides advanced education and research opportunities in its master’s program in Subtropical Agriculture. This graduate program provides further learning initiatives in each of the four undergraduate departments listed above. Highly motivated students who wish to become professional scientists may also enroll in the United Graduate School of Agricultural Sciences’ Doctoral Program jointly offered by the University of the Ryukyus, Kagoshima University and Saga University.


Departments Courses of Study Bachelor
Subtropical Agro-Production Sciences
  • Agricultural and Forest Economics
  • Plant Breeding Science
  • Sustainable Animal Production Science
  • Human and Agricultural Symbiotic Science
Subtropical Agro-Environmental Sciences
  • Plant Functional Science
  • Animal Functional Science
  • Forest Science
  • Ecology and Environmental Science
Regional Agricultural Engineering
  • Biosystems Engineering
  • Rural Environmental Engineering
Bioscience and Biotechnology
  • Biotechnology
  • Food Science and Nutrition
  • Fermentation and Life Science
  • Health and Nutritional Science